The First Week of Classes

Tuesday’s class was…adventurous, to say the least. I had Oral Language from 1-4, which consisted of listening comprehension and speaking. The professor, is, uh, very interesting? I’m not sure that I’m going to learn a lot in that class, and it felt like I’d spent all day in the classroom rather than just three hours. We all had to go up and introduce ourselves in front of the class, and talk about where we’re from, and she expected me to know why R-MC’s mascot is the yellow jacket. Uh, I have no idea? And then she wanted me to talk for two minutes about Virginia’s climate, and I thought, “I can’t even talk about the weather in English for two minutes!” All the other students were also totally befuddled by that class.

The Czech girl I met helped me with finally getting Internet in my room, which I’m still ridiculously excited about! Now I don’t have to go to the computer room every time I want to use the Internet.

On Wednesday, I had my second Written Language class from 2-4. Then, I was supposed to have French Society Through the Media for an hour, from 4-5, except there was this whole mess about incorrect scheduling or something. So I ended up sitting for an hour in a class that I didn’t even sign up for, because I didn’t want to risk being impolite by standing up and leaving. Oops? But afterwards, I talked a bit with a Taiwanese girl in my main classes, and she asked if she could speak in Chinese to me. So we spoke in Chinese and French, which was quite an experience.

As for Thursday, I was supposed to have 7-8 hours of class today, but luckily I ended up only having 5 hours of literature, from 10-12 and then 1-4. While the professor seems nice, frankly, I thought that the classes were pretty boring. The first class, Literary Themes and Courants (I’m not really sure what that last word translates to), was basically history, which is supposed to complement the periods of literature we’re learning about—but I’ve already learned the history in Professor deGraff’s Civilization class. In the second class, Literary Texts, there’s practically no interaction or conversation; the professor basically just lectured the entire time and I could feel myself starting to lose focus. (It’s not my fault that the classroom windows offered a gorgeous view of the Mediterranean coast.) But at least I met two other people from the University of Maryland, which was nice, especially since one of them is also staying for a year! I ate lunch with them—we all had chicken sandwiches from the pub that’s near the university, and although the chicken wasn’t amazing or terrible, the bread was delicious. After class, I went to the library and borrowed two Les Adventures de Tintin books, which are sort of like graphic novels for children, and hopefully I’ll be able to work my way through those. Always start small, I guess?

Leave a Reply

