Week 6, ft. Menton

My five-hour literature class was blessedly canceled on Thursday, resulting in an unexpected four-day weekend. I spent a good amount of time stuffing groceries into my tote bag and backpack, and then playing Tetris with my fridge.

*******

On Friday, four of the Marylanders invited me to go to Menton with them, which is a commune that’s apparently famous for lemons. After meeting at Place Garibaldi at 2, we took a bus to Èze and then another to Menton (we’d been planning to go straight to Menton, but we had some problems with the bus and some rude stalker guy who worked for the bus line). I glued my eyes to the window for most of the hour-and-a-half-long ride, because we were driving along the coast and the view of the Mediterranean coastline was just too pretty to resist.

Although all the coastal cities and communes here all sort of look the same—they have gorgeous architecture and are built on hills and mountains—each one has its own unique beauty.

We walked through a little garden before stopping briefly at the tourist office to obtain a map and tips on where to go, and then we went off to explore. We walked into a museum for about ten seconds, left and then browsed a yard sale, and stumbled upon a honey store, Mille et un miels. Oh my god. The honey there was incredible, and the lady working there let us sample a bunch, such as honey with lemons, honey with mandarin, and honey with lavender. Even though the honey was on the expensive side, 9.50 euros for a little 185g jar, we all ended up buying something. (I swear I’ve never tasted honey that delicious, and I don’t even know how I’m supposed to go back to eating fake honey in plastic bears in the US.)

Our next destination was the Basilica Saint-Michel, but we missed the cathedral’s visiting hours by ten minutes. The outside was still pretty, anyways, and we decided to keep climbing uphill to visit a cemetery.

All the apartments we passed were colorful and aesthetic, and we found an area that offered an amazing view of Menton and the Mediterranean.

Me posing awkwardly:

My attempt at a panorama:

After a bunch of pictures, we continued on to the Vieux-Château Cemetery, where we proceeded to be impressed by the amount of detail and care put into the graves. There were even miniature mausoleums, and some of the graves had family members who’d been buried there since 1788.

After noticing a foreboding storm cloud, we hurried back to the bus stop and left Menton around 7, and I got back to my room at 9.

*******

I wanted to go out and do things on Saturday and Sunday, but my reluctance to leave the dorm at night tends to outweigh my desire to kick myself out of my room. I did, however, accomplish cleaning my room and doing my laundry, which made me miss R-MC’s free laundry. (It cost 4.40 euros to use a washing machine, 0.50 euros for detergent, and another 0.50 euros to use a drying machine for 5 minutes. It’s too bad my sink isn’t bigger, because then I’d keep hand-washing everything.)

Leave a Reply

