Èze

Saturday, a group of eight international students and I explored Èze, a little hilltop village. We had some coffee and hot chocolate before visiting the church and then the Exotic Garden, which, admittedly, wasn’t all that impressive to me. It appeared to only be populated by sparse cacti and succulents—but maybe I don’t appreciate plants the way my plant-loving roommate back at R-MC does? However, the view was totally worth the 2.5 euro admission fee. (I will never cease to be amazed by the beauty of the Mediterranean Coast. Honestly, I could gush about it for hours.)

Part of the garden, as well as houses, mountains, and the sea:

Me posing awkwardly against a celestial and mountainous backdrop:

Bridge leading into Èze:

After we’d satisfied our desire to capture the landscape/seascape via camera, we took the Nietzsche Chemin down the mountain. Yeah, you heard me.

All.

The.

Way.

Down.

I mean, I’m not going to deny that the view of the surrounding mountains and sea was stunning, but would I repeat going down a thousand of those rough-hewn, treacherous steps again? Nope. (Tips for hiking: the longer your legs, the better. Also, don’t wear Converse.)

Finally, after a bunch of walking and pausing to take photos, we reached the bottom and ate a long-delayed lunch on the beach.

Next, we walked to Beaulieu-sur-mer, where we watched people play Pétanque, before taking the bus back to Nice. There, six of us sat down and ate kebabs, which were absolutely delicious, though my judgment may or may not have been influenced by the fact that I was starving and calorie-deprived and would have eaten practically anything. We sat and talked for about an hour and a half, and when we parted ways, I was lucky enough to reach the bus stop right before the 8:25 bus showed up.

Leave a Reply

