Saint-Jean-Cap-Ferrat

It’s the middle of November, but it’s 66 degrees, sunny with the occasional breeze. An endless expanse of azure sprawls before you, clear blue waves becoming sprays of white foam when they crash into the craggy cliffs that you’re sitting upon.

Sounds a bit chimerical, doesn’t it?

But that describes my trip to Saint-Jean-Cap-Ferrat on Sunday. Nine other international students and I spent about 4-5 hours walking around the entire peninsula, which was an approximately 9 mile hike. However, the effort was well worth the trade-off: a spectacular, never-ending view of the Mediterranean Coast.

I know, you’re probably sick and tired of hearing me enthuse over how pretty the sea is, so I’ll just say that it has a beauty that my mediocre camera will never do justice.

On the short bus ride back to Nice, we were treated to an absolutely gorgeous sunset. I wanted to take a picture of it, but all my camera wanted to do was capture the bus window. (Although, let’s be honest, it was probably going on strike because I took so many pictures at Saint-Jean-Cap-Ferrat.) Anyway, I’ll attempt to describe the sunset: there was a backdrop of dusky blue, and the sun was illuminating a streak of clouds, which flared into a vibrant orange that gave way to a fiery rose, a soft lavender, and finally a pale blue.

Later, five of us sat down and enjoyed a meal at a Turkish restaurant in Vieux Nice, and when we parted ways around 7:20, I spent about thirty minutes sitting in the cold (okay, it was like 50 degrees, but still) waiting for the bus to show up, so I went ahead and typed out this entire blog post on my iPhone.

Leave a Reply

