A Non-French Class

I’ve been deprived of an actual literature class since May, so on a desperate whim, I decided to sign up for an English literature class, Life of Pi. The course is an hour long and only happens on Thursdays (which means it’ll probably end up giving me a whopping half-a-credit), but it’s free, and it’s actually intriguing, so who’s complaining?

Life of Pi and I have had a tumultuous history. I think I picked it up one summer as a 6th or 7th grader, my mentality being, “Oh hey, look how big this book is! And it’s got a tiger on the cover! I’m going to read it!” Unfortunately, little!me had never read anything past the level of Harry Potter, Redwall, or A Series of Unfortunate Events, so that wasn’t the best life decision. I mean, I understood that the book was weird, but I failed to grasp any of its literary intricacies, so I promptly decided that I hated it.

I like to think that now, nearly a decade later, I’m smarter than middle-school-me. Although the book’s definitely still weird, it’s the sort of story that compels you to step back and reflect. (Being me, I read it in a couple of hours over the span of three days, after skimming over the religion parts—not that I have anything against religion [unless you’re trying to rub it in people’s faces or use it to justify heinous acts like *cough racism and homophobia cough*], but I’m an atheist and it simply doesn’t interest me.)

So it’s a relief to finally be able to sit in a class that reminds me of R-MC, even if it’s only for an hour that flies by way too quickly. The professor’s chill and has a sense of humor, and as a plus, he actually treats us like independent thinkers instead of vessels. To be honest, this class is probably the only reason I’m still sane after half a year of CUEFLE classes.

On the downside, everyone has to give a presentation, but that doesn’t seem nearly as daunting after being forced to sit at the front of a room and talk about a random subject in a language that I can’t even speak fluently. My topic isn’t too bad, either; all I have to do is watch the movie and then compare the cinematic and literary versions. (Side note: I found out today that we’re graded on class participation. Yay. A shy person’s favorite thing.)

2 thoughts on “A Non-French Class

  1. Joseph V says:

    I remember reading Life of Pi in sophomore year of high school and being disappointed after how much it was built up to me. At the time of my reading it, I thought the discussion of religion in the text was interesting, but looking back, I think it was kind of toothless. The protagonists adopts a bunch of beliefs, but I’m not sure how much he ultimately says about any of them.

    Anyway, I hope you have a good time trying to figure out what in the world the significance of that floating island in the latter half of the book is, because I haven’t the foggiest idea.

    (Also, I found your blog again after looking through some of my old bookmarks. Hi!)

  2. Sarena says:

    I am still a little bit confused about how it’s such a highly lauded novel, because I feel like I’ve read little-known books that have stronger themes and better writing, but at least it’s keeping the English-nerd part of me alive.

    Okay, so I’m not the only one. The floating island chapters make absolutely no sense to me.

    (And hi! I’m so excited to see you in May!)

Leave a Reply

