Au revoir, America

As I find increasingly creative ways to avoid packing the last few things I need, I can’t decide which is worse:

A) The fact that my inner bookworm is currently whispering, “You have extra space? Pack more books!” while my common sense is arguing, “Sarena, no.”

B) The fact that this conversation actually happened:
Pat: “How many books are you bringing?”
Me: “Uhhhh…like…two…and a half?”
Pat: “A half? How can you bring half a book?”
Me: “It’s like 50 pages, so it doesn’t really count. It’s a really small book.”
Iszi: “Is it the one from your French class last semester?”
Me: “……Yes.”
Iszi: “SARENA OH MY GOD YOU FUCKING NERD.”

 

So while I leave you with my sentimental nerd problems, here’s a look at my much less complicated itinerary:

Richmond (3:30pm) –> Philadelphia (4:47-6:20pm) –> Paris (7:55am) –> RER B (?) –> Gare du Nord (9:55am departure?) –> Laon (ideally 11:27am)

If you, for any reason, want to be notified ASAP when I arrive in Paris or Laon, just let me know, and I’ll add you to the list of people to email! Hopefully I don’t fall asleep on the way to Laon, since all of that traveling and then staying up in a potentially futile attempt to avoid jet lag might as well equal pulling an all-nighter. (Which, even as an irrefutable nerd, I’ve never actually done for school.)

Speaking of school, after seeing all my R-MC friends for what will probably be the last time this year, I’m feeling a bit nostalgic. So here’s a much-deserved shout-out to all of my friends, teachers, and professors who never condemned or criticized me for being quiet, who saw past my shyness, who helped me get to where I am today. You know who you are. (I’ve probably hugged you or written something for you or cried on you. Or, if you’re especially [un]lucky, all three.)

Anyways, this will be my last post from this side of the Atlantic Ocean until…I’m not actually sure. Until some unspecified date past September 21, when I find or buy Internet in Laon, whenever that will be. In the meantime, here’s a site with a lot of pretty pictures: https://www.glamourapartments.com/blog/travel/laon-gothic-gem-of-picardie/.

PS. I figured that link was a better—albeit less hilarious—way of ending this post than Madeline’s suggested, “Bye bitches.”

Leave a Reply

