Les hortillonages

Try saying that word in French—it’s a struggle. Basically, les hortillonages are floating gardens, unique to Amiens and Picardie. And they’re gorgeous. F, S, and I paid 6 euros for an idyllic 45-minute boat ride through what was a network of canals and tiny islands, complete with houses, veggies, fruit, ducks, chickens, dogs, and fish. The experience cemented the feeling that, even though I’ve been in France for 19 days, I still feel like I’m dreaming, like I’m waiting to wake up at any moment. Since I don’t have the words to describe how magical les hortillonages were, a picture is supposedly worth a thousand words, so I’ll just let these photos do the talking:

Leave a Reply

