If we lay a strong enough foundation

In case you follow this blog and we aren’t Facebook friends or email buddies, sometimes I write things, and sometimes they get paid and published:

https://www.bustle.com/articles/196780-how-donald-trump-inspired-me-to-come-out-of-the-closet

Aside from the two professors I emailed, it’s just weird to know that other Yellow Jackets and R-MC faculty and staff are out there reading and potentially discussing my essay, especially because I haven’t come out to my parents yet. (Will I ever? I don’t know. Maybe when I’m no longer financially dependent on them. Let’s just say that I tried arguing once with my mom over heteronormativity and marriage; my brother thinks our father voted for Trump; and I don’t have the Chinese vocabulary to explain anything related to social justice.)

But hey, at least I’ve officially made my way into the world of high school curricula, because N was sweet enough to say, “Hello dear, the most inspiring writing I have ever read. Honest. …Anyway, I love your writing and would it be OK for you if I used your writing in the future to study this article with my students?”

The outpouring of support from my friends and professors and colleagues may or may not have made me weepy. (Did I cry several times over the things you all told me? No, of course not. I handle compliments really well, obviously; I’m just allergic to emotions.) Anyways, you all have given me enough hope and pride to steal lyrics from the songs “Dear Theodosia” and “Southern Wild” and say:

“If we lay a strong enough foundation / We’ll pass it on to you, / we’ll give the world to you / And you’ll blow us all away” –Hamilton

“But this love is not just in my head, / and I know, [we]’ve got a chance” ­-Honeywater

img_3087

(This was an accidental sunset picture, but I really like how it turned out. Life gets you in unexpected ways.)

2 thoughts on “If we lay a strong enough foundation

    • Sarena says:

      Once I get back to the US in May, I’d be more than happy to meet R! I’ve honestly lost count of how many times I’ve listened to the soundtrack in the past few days because I want to use it as a springboard for introducing the terminales to social justice.

Leave a Reply

