Paris, Take…I Lost Count

When in France…run off to Paris for your birthday? Anyways, here’s the story of turning 23.

March 9:

  • Spent my actual birthday getting scolded/yelled at by Ml, because the schools seem to constantly forget that I’m an assistant, not a teacher. A fresh graduate with zero professional training. N’s really the only teacher out of the fourteen that I work with who seems to understand the meaning of assistant. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
  • Casually sobbed in the school bathroom for five minutes because you’re not supposed to grow older than your older sibling, at least not at this age
  • Got to surprise work with N, who gave me a cute little piece of chocolate
  • Saw an incredible sunset when walking back home (sometimes you just need a little [sun]light to tell you that life will be okay)

March 10:

  • Got the entire Airbnb and the amazing balcony view to myself, since the owner was traveling. Okay, not entirely to myself, I shared the apartment with the cutest, cuddliest cat called Nouka. Poor thing was being fat-shamed by her owner: “yes, she is FAT”
  • Finally satisfied my bubble tea craving
  • Paid the Louvre a late-night visit with O, S, and two other assistants, T and P
  • Went into a bar and had a glass of rosé for the first time

image

March 11:

  • Popped by Galeries Lafayette purely for the architecture and the terrace view, because let’s be honest, I’ll never be able to afford any of those clothes
  • Soaked in the sunlight at the Jardin des Tuileries (shockingly, it was warm enough that I started to overheat in my jacket and scarf)
  • Gazed in awestruck wonder at Monet’s water liles in the Musée de l’Orangerie so that Madeline could live vicariously through me

image

  • Visited le Panthéon, where famous people like Voltaire, Rosseau, Hugo, and the Curies are buried

image.jpeg

  • Met up with P, who I met while studying abroad in Nice, and saw le canal Saint-Martin
  • Got a cute lanyard shrimp from the owners of a sushi restaurant

image

  • Saw the Eiffel Tower at night

image

2 thoughts on “Paris, Take…I Lost Count

  1. Nathan says:

    Joyeux anniversaire. Idea for spring travel…giverny! See monet’s inspiration and van gogh’s garret. ONe of my favorite memories of france. If you’ve never been, i would highly reccommend it. -n

    • Sarena says:

      Merci! 🙂 I’ve never been to Giverny, but I want to go so badly! I’m considering going later this month, depending on the weather, or after the end of my contract.

Leave a Reply

